Ongoings

Making Space for Life

You know when you’re saving a muffin for after dinner but you go ahead and eat it before lunch anyway? Yummy. >:-D

Omg. I want to start writing this article but oh my. This muffin. Omg. Yum.

It is going to take all of my strength of will not to eat the other muffin.

IMG_20170808_131102

It may not look like much

but this muffin is DELICIOUS!

Plus the one I just ate had

way more chocolate chips on. ^.^

I definitely shouldn’t eat this muffin.

I’ve already gone off the idea of lunch,

I just want tea and more muffins.

Oh unhealthy muffin how I love you so.

…….

Ok, it’s gone.

 

Believe it or not I didn’t sit down to tell you about my enchanting muffin eating experience. I wanted to update you on my decluttathon! I’m still getting rid of things, nothing extravagant enough to worth mentioning though really but I wanted to talk about mental clutter. I know I spoke about this before but I want to focus on media.

I get a LOT of emails in a day. A vast portion of these emails are selling me something. Lets go through my inbox right now, what do we have: Blog, Asos, Blog, Verywell, Uber, Wowcher, Blog, Wowcher, Justmylook, Alibris, Travelsupermarket, Blog, Screwfix, Myhermes, Holland&Barrett, Expedia, B&Q, Comparethemarket, Blog, Aliexpress, Etsy, Pinterest, Livestrong, Better homes & gardens.

This is in ONE day. In one single day I have 15+ sales emails that’s more than fifteen opportunities to BUY something. I check my emails regularly and despite my best efforts of minimising my stuff and trying not to buy more stuff I still find myself scrolling through the never-ending Asos sale or the infamous penny sale. So right here, right now I am going to unsubscribe from every. single. one. Well maybe not all of them, I mean I don’t want to miss out on flight deals, but every email with a chance to buy a material item! πŸ˜€

See you next Christmas! ;D

It’s been about an hour and I’M BAAAACK πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
I think we can all benefit from a bit of inbox decluttering. It was super hard to unsubscribe from my preferred shopping sites without reading the emails first. Nothing beats the calm and tranquillity of an empty inbox.

Screenshot 2017-08-08 at 14.01.11

 

Isn’t that the loveliest thing? Look, I even got a little trophy. ^.^

I think I want to treat my inbox like a tangible mailbox. I wouldn’t leave letters to pile up on the side unread would I? I’d file them or recycle them. Β So that is what i’ve done, I filed my important emails away and sent the junk to the digital recycling plant. It will probably pile up again but if when I get an email I just either file it or delete it, it should be okay! πŸ™‚

Image result for piled up mail on side

I feel happier knowing I have nothing to sort out at the moment, I know that everything is as it should be in my inbox and I don’t have to worry about misplacing anything because it is all neatly filed.

Hopefully now I shouldn’t get any advertising or marketing emails, if I do I can just spam them. Outlook does have a spam filter, mine doesn’t seem to work very effectively though.

If you noticed on the right I also use an ad-blocker, I got this because I like to stream TV and download music and the sites I use always have lots of irritating pop-ups, but I love the fact that it seems to work for every site to block all sorts of ads. Usually instead on an ad banner I will see a blank space with an error message. I use Adblock Plus and I use it as a browser extension, I can’t recommend it enough!

I think, even as adults, it is important to protect ourselves from such relentless advertising because as much as we think we are above it, we can all get suckered into promotions sometimes.

Image result for billboard enticing promotion

I do not watch a lot of TV but devices like the fireTV stick and streaming websites (just get a hdmi cable to stream from your laptop to TV) mean it is a lot easier to avoid advertising. Mummy has one of the VirginTV boxes that let you skip through all of the adverts which is awesome, I personally don’t want to pay as much as Virgin think it is okay to charge.

The media can really fill up our minds without us even realising. I mean how often do we see adverts next to news articles we are reading? Billboards on the motorway? They’re even on the radio!

We can’t avoid all of this mental clutter but it does help to be mindful of it so it is more of a choice and less of an intrusion. Radio ad break? Switch station. Motorway billboard? Keep your eyes on the road. Newspaper ad? Fold the page. There are things we can do to keep our minds free of media clutter, we just have to notice them.

 

Next time you go to buy something you saw in an advert be it a Sprite or a sofa, think about why you are doing it and if there is a better way. I think the key is to be mindful and really think about why we do the things we do, the better we understand our behaviour the easier it is to make changes.

Lulu x

2 thoughts on “Making Space for Life

Leave a Reply

